How do I simulate Scanning Tunneling microscope image?

Queries about input and output files, running specific calculations, etc.


Moderators: Global Moderator, Moderator

Post Reply
Message
Author
vasplover

How do I simulate Scanning Tunneling microscope image?

#1 Post by vasplover » Wed Oct 31, 2007 7:55 pm

I know VASP can do it. But how?
Thank you.
Last edited by vasplover on Wed Oct 31, 2007 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Danny
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:35 pm
License Nr.: 5-532
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Contact:

How do I simulate Scanning Tunneling microscope image?

#2 Post by Danny » Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:58 pm

you have to calculate a partial charge density. First you do a static selfconsistent calculation(you need the WAVECAR) of your system and then you can do an extra calculation setting the tag LPARD=.TRUE. in the incar file.
NBMOD sets how you will be calculating your partial charge density (eg NBMOD=-3 sets it such that you define the energy interval)
EINT sets the energy interval. If you put only 1 value there the partial charge is calculated from that value to the fermi level, if you put 2 values then they will be the boundaries of the energyinterval.

So if you want to make a speudo-STM with a sample bias of -1.50V then you can use
LPARD=.TRUE.
NBMOD=-3
EINT=-1.5
more info can be found in the manual:
http://cms.mpi.univie.ac.at/vasp/vasp/node154.html
(slightly hidden, probably to make sure you read the entire manual, not just the part wich gives the parameters ;) )

After this calculation you get a file PARCHG which is setup exactly like a CHGCAR file and from that point on making the STM image is peanuts. Just write a nice little program which goes trough the PARCHG file and generates the isosurface you are looking for.

There are a few detail you need to keep in mind:
The WAVECAR you generated in the static calculation needs to be read correctly by vasp...any excuse it gets it will use to generate a new random WAVECAR file. So best is to set also NBANDS in your INCAR file to the same amount you had in your static calculation...and if you are running on multiple cpu's make sure that NBANDS is a multiple of the number of CPU's otherwise VASP will ignore NBANDS and still kill your result...(and as no errorchecking/handling is done by VASP you will have to make sure of this yourself, the job won't crash it will just give you wrong results)

Danny
Last edited by Danny on Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zzhlax
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:41 am
License Nr.: Medea via Materials Design

How do I simulate Scanning Tunneling microscope image?

#3 Post by zzhlax » Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:27 am

nice reply
Last edited by zzhlax on Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

alizah
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:55 am

How do I simulate Scanning Tunneling microscope image?

#4 Post by alizah » Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:17 am

thanks for sharing the post
Last edited by alizah on Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply